Osinbanjo Inaugurates ‘CLEAN NIGERIA’ Committee Programme

Osinbanjo Inaugurates ‘CLEAN NIGERIA’ Committee Programme

In order to ensure proper coordination of the campaign against Open Defecation as well as to effectively drive the efforts of making Nigeria Open Defecation Free by the set date of 2025, the Vice President, Federal Republic of Nigeria, His Excellency Professor Yemi Osinbajo GCON, SAN yesterday 28th May, 2020 in Abuja inaugurated the Steering Committee for the Clean Nigeria: Use the Toilet Campaign.

In his welcome address, the Hon. Minister of Water Resources, Engr. Suleiman H. Adamu FNSE, FAEng stated that the drive towards making Nigeria Open Defecation Free by 2025 will only be a reality when all Stakeholders demonstrate strong commitment to this national aspiration.

Engr. Adamu noted that a Secretariat has been set up by Federal Ministry of Water Resources for engagement with all stakeholders towards achieving the Campaign objectives.“Under the Governance structure as approved by the Federal Executive Council, a Steering Committee is to be set up to provide oversight on the implementation of the Clean Nigeria Campaign and its National Secretariat” he said.

The Minister went down the memory lane to recall that the national launch of the Campaign on 19th November, by His Excellency, the Vice President Prof Yemi Osinbajo marked the official roll out of the national transformative campaign while the signing of Executive Order 009 on 20th November, 2019 by the President has further given legal backing to the campaign.

The Steering Committee is required to hold bi – annual meetings to take stock of the activities and progress of the Clean Nigeria Campaign towards ending Open Defecation in Nigeria by 2025.

The Minister therefore, tasked them “to take up this challenge to ensure that Nigeria exits from the ladder of countries with the highest population of people practicing Open Defecation”.

In his inaugural address, the Vice President, His Excellency Prof Yemi Osinbajo pointed out that the campaign is equally intended to create a pool of resource persons providing support for Local Actors to implement a nation-wide transformational sanitation promotion, mobilize various strata of the society to imbibe a new culture of safe sanitation through behavioural change, communication, advocacy strategy; and establish mechanisms for tracking progress and sharing knowledge and lessons learnt.

The Governor of Ekiti State and Chairman, Nigerian Governors Forum, His Excellency, Dr. Fayemi Kayode is the Chairman of the Steering Committee.. Other members include: Chairman, Senate Committee on Water Resources, Senator Bello Mandiya, Chairman, House Committee on Water Resources, Hon. Sada Soli, Head of the Civil Service of the Federation, Dr. Folasade Yemi – Esan, Honourable Minister of Water Resources, Engr. Suleiman H. Adamu, Honourable Minister of Information Lai mohammed, Honourable Minister of works and Housing, Barr. Babatunde Fashola, Honourable Minister of Agriculture & Rural Development, Sabo Nanono, Honourable Minister of Health, Dr. Osagie Ehanire, Honourable Minister of Environment, Dr. Muhammad Mahmood.

Others members are: Honourable Minister of Women Affairs, Dame Paulen Tallen, Honourable Minister of Humanitarian Affairs, Sadiya Umar Farouk, Honourable Minister of Education, Mallam Adamu Adamu, Honourable Minister of Finance, Budget and National Planning, Zainab Ahmed, Honourable Minister of Youths and Sports Development, Sunday Dare, Honourable Minister of Federal Capital Territory Administration, Mohammed Musa Bello.

Membership of the Steering Committee also include: Director General, National Orientation Agency, Dr. Garba Abari, Senior Special Assistant to Mr. President on Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), Mrs. Adejoke Orelope Adefulire, Chairman, National President of Association of Local Governments of Nigeria (ALGON), Hon. Kolade David Alabi, Representative of organized Private Sector in Wash (OPS-WASH), Dr. Nicholas Igwe, Representative of Development Partners Group, Country Director, World Bank Shubhan Chaudhuri, Representative of Network of Non-Governmental Organisations (NGOs) in Water and Sanitation Mr. Benson Attah, Director, Department of water Quality Control and Sanitation, FMWR, Mr. Emmanuel Awe, and Special  Assistant (Technical)  to Hon Minister of Water Resources Engr. Taoheed Amusan.

The Inauguration ceremony was witnessed by the Permanent Secretary, Federal Ministry of Water Resources, Mrs. Ekaro Comfort. C.


Kenechukwu Offie (Mrs.)

Director (Information)

Kidnapped School Children

Yauri FGC Students, Kebbi
221 days 3 hours 48 minutes 55 seconds,

Baptist School Students, Kaduna
203 days 5 hours 30 minutes 20 seconds

Tegina Islamiya Pupils, Niger (Freed)
Spent 88 days from May 30, 2021 - August 26, 2021

Report By: PRNigeria.com