Osinbajo Approves Appointment Of 14 Chief Executives Of Tertiary Health Institutions In The Country

Yemi Osinbajo
Yemi Osinbajo
As Minister of Health charged them to be dedicated
The Acting President Professor Yemi Osinbajo, SAN has approved the appointment of fourteen Chief Medical Directors and Medical Directors in Teaching Hospitals, Federal Medical Centres and Specialty Hospitals in Nigeria.
This was contained in an approval letter signed by the Deputy Chief of Staff to the Acting President addressed to the Honourable Minister of Health, Professor Isaac Adewole.  The appointment which takes immediate effect of 4 years tenure is in two categories. Five of the appointees will be serving their second and final term while the remaining nine will be serving their first tenure
The name of the new chief executive officers and their health facilities are; Professor Bisala Ekele (University of Abuja Teaching Hospital, Gwagwalada); Dr V.A. Osiatuma (Federal Medical Centre, Asaba); Professor Idris Suleiman (Federal Medical Centre, Birnin Kudu); Professor Abdus Musa (Federal Medical Centre, Abeokuta); Dr O.O. Alabi (Federal Medical Centre, Lokoja); Dr Adejuwon Dada (Federal Medical Centre, Ebute-Metta, Lagos); Dr Ibrahim Wakawa (Federal Neuropsychiatric Hospital, Maiduguri); Dr O.C. Ogun (Federal Neuropsychiatric Hospital, Lagos) and Dr Shehu Sale (Federal Neuropsychiatric Hospital, Sokoto).
The five that will be serving their second tenure are; Professor A.Z. Mohammed (Aminu Kano Teaching Hospital, Kano); Professor Anthony Igwegbe (Nnamdi Azikiwe University Teaching Hospital, Nnewi); Dr Wiza Inusa (Federal Medical Centre, Jalingo); Dr Joseph B. Okegbe (Federal Medical Centre, Calabar) and Dr Sunday Olotu (Federal Neuropsychiatric Hospital, Uselu, Benin-City).
 The Minister of Health hereby congratulates all the appointees and charged them to reciprocate the Federal Government’s gesture by taking their appointment as a call to service. He also advised them to hit the ground running by ensuring that they operate an all-inclusive administration that will promote efficiency, transparency and accountability.
 Adewole stated further that the Chief Executive Officers are to support the current health Agenda of President Muhammadu Buhari Administration which is aimed at achieving Universal Health Coverage.  
Prof. Adewole also reminded them that their health facilities should provide leadership for adjoining secondary and primary health facilities through training and supervision of healthcare services that are rendered. He concluded by cautioning the new appointees that Government will monitor their performance and will not shy away from wielding the big stick should anyone abuse his/her office.
In the light of this development, the health Minister charged all the professionals in the health sector to support the new appointees in their health facilities to reposition the sector. He called on them to note that the success of the new administration is the collective success of the Nigerian health workers.  
Boade Akinola (Mrs)
Director, Media and Public Relations
Federal Ministry of Health, Abuja

naija news headlines today

Kidnapped School Children

Yauri FGC Students, Kebbi
531 days 16 hours 34 minutes 28 seconds,

Baptist School Students, Kaduna
513 days 18 hours 15 minutes 53 seconds

Tegina Islamiya Pupils, Niger (Freed)
Spent 88 days from May 30, 2021 - August 26, 2021

Report By: PRNigeria.com

PRNigeria.com EconomicConfidential.com PRNigeria.com/Hausa
EmergencyDigest.com PoliticsDigest.ng TechDigest.ng
HealthDigest.ng SpokesPersonsdigest.com TeensDigest.ng
ArewaAgenda.com Hausa.ArewaAgenda.com YAShuaib.com


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here