Senate President Bukola Saraki
Senate President Bukola Saraki

Senate-NigeriaThe Senate yesterday at plenary rejected two nominees of the President for appointment as members of the board of Nigerian Communication Commission. They are Aliyu Saidu Abubakar and Pastor Ezekiel Yisa.

According to the report of the Senate Committee on Communications led by Senator Gilbert Nnaji, Aliyu Abubakar was rejected because his response to the questions and issues raised by the Committee unveils him as a candidate who is not prepared for the demands of office such as required by a Commissioner of the NCC.

For Pastor Ezekiel Yisa, the Committee said his background as a career Nursing Officer will not put him in a good stead to be able to effectively cope with the dynamics of the Communication sector.

But the following nominees were cleared. Senator Olabiyi Durojaiye as Chairman, Mr. Sunday Dare as Executive Commissioner, Stakeholders Management, Clement Omeza Baiye, Chief Okoi Ofem Obia and Senator Ifeanyi Ararume as non Executive Commissioners.

Also yesterday, the Senate confirms the appointment of Hon. Justice Dauda Bage and Hon. Justice Paul Adamu Galinge as Justices of the Supreme Court after considering the report of its Committee on Judiciary, Human Rights and Legal Matters presented by the Chairman, Senator David Umaru.

The Senate also yesterday considers the report of its Committee on INEC on the confirmation of the appointment of Commissioners of INEC and approved Professor Okechukwu Obinna Ibeanu. May Agbamuche-Mbu, AVM Ahmed Tijani Mu’Azu. Mohammed Kudu Haruna, Dr. Adekunle Ladipo Ogunmola and Abubakar Ahmed Nahuche as members of the Independent National Electoral Commission.

The report was presented by the Chairman of the Committee, Senator Abubakar Kyari.

Charles Akpan
Head, Press and Public Relations


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here