FG inaugurates task force to reform  Power sector

The Federal Government has inaugurated the Ministerial Taskforce on Power as a way of achieving the fight for increased and sustainable power supply in the country.

The Minister of Power, Engr. Sale Mamman who inaugurated the Taskforce in Abuja, Thursday, said the setting up of the Taskforce became necessary as a result of the Federal Government’s plan to accelerate the pace of reforms in the sector and increase power output and availability in the short and long term.

Mamman pointed out that that the Ministerial Taskforce on Power is to serve as an Advisory Team on Policies and Innovative Technologies, adding that the Committee which has a two year tenure, is also saddled with the responsibility of developing, planning and driving forward the reform plan of the Federal Government in the sector.

He explained that members of the newly inaugurated Ministerial Taskforce on power were carefully selected, saying they are people who are conversant with issues in the power sector.

Speaking on behalf of members of the Committee, the Chairman, Prof. Abubakar Sani Sambo said they will not fail the Federal Government on the confidence reposed on them, noting that, ‘our assignment is to advise the Minister on what to be done in the long and short term in order to improve electricity in the country.

Other members of the Committee are Lateef Olabamiji (Vice Chairman/ Executive Secretary), Sanusi Muktar Bichi, Dr. Sam Uche Okoro ESQ, Goodluck Enimakpokop, Chidi Adabanya, Musa Usman Yola, Engr. Dr. Abubakar Atiku Tambuwa, Barrister Shehu Inuwa, Engr. Tunji Ariyomo, Prof. S.S Adamu, Engr. Faruk Y. Yusuf Ag Director (Renewable and Rural Power Access Dept.), Ivy Joyce Adi-Elekwa, Abba Aliyu, Isa Ado Maidoya, Mahmud Tukur, Dr. Haruna Musa, Dr. Vincent Dogo, Prof. Abubakar Jika Jiddere, Dr. Nurain Hassan Ibrahim, Engr. E. O Ajayi (Director ERD Power), and Mr. Haruna Ladan, Deputy Director, Appointment, Promotion and Discipline  in the Ministry as the Secretary.

Etore E. Thomas

DD (Press)