The Honourable Minister of Communications, Barr. Adebayo Shittu have charged the newly inaugurated Nigerian Communications Commission (NCC) Governing Board Members to ensure that poor quality of service should be quickly addressed in the telecommunications industry. He gave the charge in his Office during the inauguration of the new NCC board members.
 He also tasked them to ensure that the incidences of dropped calls and other related poor service should be curtailed and to take measures that would bring about good quality of service. He said complains about the quality of service being rendered by mobile network providers were disturbing and in this regard, he had to read the riot act when he had a meeting with them last year. He added that, the ministry of Communications through NCC has pledged to sustain the industry as the envy of all other sectors of the economy and so doing surpass the current 12 percent  contribution to the GDP in line with the Change Agenda of President Muhammadu Buhari.
Shittu implored the board members to be selfless and contribute their rich experiences that would shape the development of the Communications Industry having the NCC Act (2003) to guide their work. He added that, telecom revolution has been rewarding but more effort is needed to fully transform Nigeria into a digital and knowledge based economy stressing that a national ICT roadmap has been drawn up to refocus the ICT sector, and entreated them to employ cutting-edge regulatory practices to maintain and hold on the industry and ensure continuity growth and development.
He outlined the duties of the board members which includes but not limited to formulating policies for the regulation and development of the Communications Industry, and ensuring that the commission is manifestly seen to be a responsible corporate citizen not just financial aspect but also the impact in operations towards its stakeholders, considering and approving the annual budget of the commission as may be presented to it by the management; ensuring that all members demonstrate positive examples through regular attendance and effective contributions at meetings.
 Members of the governing board inaugurated are Senator Olabiyi Durojaiye as Chairman, Prof. U.G Danbatta as Executive Vice Chairman, Engr, Ubale A. Maska, Executive Commissioner Technical Service, Mr. Sunday Akin Dare Executive Commissioner Stakeholder Management, Mr. Clement Omeiza Baiye Board Member, and Senator Ifeanyi Ararume, Board Member.
In his remarks the chairman of the board, Senator Olabiyi Durojaiye thanked the federal government for carefully selecting them as members of the board of the commission and also assured the Minister that the members will ensure a level playing field and ensure a much better service quality.
Henshaw Ogubike
Deputy Director Press


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here