Ile-Arugbo Demolition: Ilorin Stakeholders Inaugurate Committee to Resolve Feud

Worried by the prevailing tension in Ilorin Emirate and the strain relationship between the Kwara State Government and children of late Dr. Olusola Saraki, a group of concerned and respected stakeholders in the state have constituted a “Reconciliation Committee.”

The committee which has been inaugurated comprised eminent jurists, Islamic clerics, academic scholars, traditional title-holders and distinguished security experts among other distinguished personalities to amicably resolve the lingering dispute, ocassioned by the demolition of the Ile-Arugbo elderly home.

The respected Kwara senior citizens are disturbed over the ugly development.

They maintained that the accelerated development and socio-economic growth of the State will be hindered if the mutual animosity between the Governor Abdulrahman Abdulrazaq-led administration, and the Sarakis is not quickly resolved.

A member of the Committee, Dr. Abubakar Aliagan, who spoke to PRNigeria, said the highly-revered stakeholders have inaugurated their peace building Committee to ensure that both parties and their supporters are reconciled for the unity, and progress in the State.

Dr. Aliagan described the setting up of the non-partisan Committee as a welcome development that will go a long way to calm frayed nerves, and heal the wounds of those already aggrieved as a result of the demolition.

“We have all agreed that the elderly members of the Committee will be the ones to initiate the dispute resolution process. They will ensure that they reconcile both parties involved in the feud. We the younger ones in their midst must respect our elders who are mostly non-politicians.

“More importantly, the Committee will continue to explore ways to maintain peace, and unity in Ilorin, and Kwara State, in general,” he said.

Meanwhile, members of the “Peace & Harmony Stakeholders Committee for the Reconciliation” in Ilorin include Alhaji Umar Saro, Engr. Lanre Sagaya, Alh. Kola Belgore, Justice Mutalib Ambali rtd., Khalifa Adabiyah, Mudirul Markaz, Alh. Dan Bornu, Prof. Abubakar Imam Aliagan, AIG Yisa Ojibara rtd., Engr. Kola Ibrahim and Hajjia Muitanat Sagaya.

Others include Alhaja Memunat Idi Agbede, Hajjia Funmilayo Gold, Hajjia Halimat Yusuf, Alhaja Rihanat Arowolo, Dr. Alimi Abdulrazaq, Dr. Yusuf Lawal, Senator Hairat Abdulrazaq Gwadabe, Alh. LAK Jimoh, Alh. Kawu Baraje, Dr. Ali Ahmad, Alh. Shehu Gafar, Senator Gbemishola Saraki, and IEDPU President.

The rest are IEDPU Vice President, and National Secretary, Alh. Y. O Ahmed (IEDPU Immediate Past President), Justice Abdulkadir Orire rtd. (Marafa Geri), Justice I. A. Haroon rtd.

By PRNigeria