The Senate President, Senator Bukola Saraki today at plenary announced the removal of Senator Ali Ndume as the Senate Majority Leader.

The rejection of Ndume was contained in a correspondence from the caucus of the All Progress Congress. No reason was given for the action.

The letter also presented Senator Ahmed Lawan from Yobe North as the new Senate Leader.

The Senate also rejected the nomination of Professor Akintunde Akinwande as the Chairman of the National Electricity Regulatory Commission. This was due to his inability to attend the senate screening.

But the Senate approved the other nominees of Mr. President as Vice Chairman and members of the board of NERC. They are Sanusi Garba as Vice Chairman, Nathan Rogers Shatti, Dr. Moses Arigu, Dafe Akoeneve, Prof. Frank Okafor and Dr. Musiliu Oseni as Commissioners.

The Senate also debated the planned closure of the Abuja Airport and resolved to invite the Minister of Transport, Rotimi Amaechi, Minister of State for Aviation Hadi Sirika, Minister of Works, Power and Housing, Raji Fashola, the Chief of Air Staff, Sadique Abubakar and the Managing Director of FAAN and NAMA.

They are to meet with the Senators to provide details on the planned closure of the Abuja Airport as well as to explore other options that can avoid a total closure of the Airport

The motion was sponsored by Senator Hope Uzodinma and co sponsored by Sen. Ike Ekweremadu, Sen. Abdullahi Gumel and Sen. Baba Kaka Bashir.

By: Charles Akpan
Head Press and Public Relations


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here